Here at UoG we have many successful teams and athletes, from individuals representing their country to teams winning BUCS Leagues and Championships. We will be showcasing our student's successes as the year goes on.

2022-23 Successes

  • BUCS Surf competition – UoG entered 2 students in the BUCS Surf Championships and Boardriders achieved their best record at the event! Chris Jarvis came 3rd in the first round and Tomas Walker came 3rd in the 3rd round narrowly missing out on the quarter finals. Walker also had one of the highest scores of the day, this is the furthers UoG have ever got in the Surf championships  

  • BUCS Snowsports competition – UoG sent 4 studentscompete. In the ski race Thomas Holmes came 6th out of 100+ and made it into the national finals later in the year! Michael Urbanksy came 64th. Snowboard race Chris Jarvis came 20th and Tomas Walker came 21st out of 100+ they both just missed out on the finals.

  • BUCS Tennis Doubles Championships - Matthew Jones and Edward Battersby competed in the tennis doubles in November and had a excellent run and finished in the top 16 pairs in the country.

  • BCA Super Classic (Cheerleading) - UOG Dynmaites entered their Level 2 Stunt team in the competition and achieved 1st Place! A trurly remarkable achievement against some other high level groups. It was the club's 1st place at a competition since 2015/16.


Sports Awards

As well as individual and team successes in competitions, each year we hold our own Sports Awards ceremony. 

The 2022 Sports Awards included the following awards:

- Best Marketed Club of the Year

- Most Improved Club of the Year

- Russell Simons Award

- Glos Goes Green Award

- Julia Hester Memorial Award

- Most Engaged Club wiith the Students' Union

- Support Staff Member of the Year

- Peformance of the Year

- Award for Male Sporting Excellence

- Award for Female Sport Excellence

- Club Member of the Year

- Award for Services to Fundraising and Charity

- Sports Personality of the Year

- Club Captain of the Year

- Club of the Year

- Award for services to Community Engagement

- Sports Scholar of the Year